Welcome to what I'm "Bumpin' This Week", a new segment about the music I'm currently listening to that I'll be blogging every so whenever the hell I feel like it. Most, if not all, of the music I'll be spotlighting will be hip-hop/rap... so if you don't listen to hip-hop then you should probably stick around 'cause you just might fall in love. Each post will be broken down into 3 categories: What's popping right now, some throwbacks/Goldie-Oldies & some dope ass cats I found who you might have never even heard of.

Some disclaimers: What's popping right now is not necessarily based on what's on the radio or what's in the club. If something is viral on YouTube... it's 2015, that means it's popping right now.

Also, I'm not one of those people who run around trying to "claim to have discovered new artists". There will be no Christopher Columbusing on my page. I'm just trying to spotlight artists who you MIGHT have been sleeping on. If you know them, dope. If not, glad I could share.

Lastly, these aren't reviews I'm putting up; they are suggestions. I'm not here to criticize nothing, just share. So I don't wanna hear no hate on this page neither.

There might be some shade tho ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Lets get down to the good stuff.

Click on the album artwork to stream the albums for free.

What's Popping

"Surf" by Donnie Trumpet and the Social Experiment


"The Return of 4eva" by Big K.R.I.T. (2011)

The Come Up

"Always EP" by Substantial & Algorythmusic

  1. Miracle
  2. Slip Slide
  3. Warm Enough
  4. Nothing Came to Me
  5. Wanna Be Cool
  6. Windows
  7. Caretaker
  8. Just Wait
  9. Familiar
  10. SmthnthtIwnt
  11. Go
  12. Questions
  13. Something Came To Me
  14. Rememory
  15. Sunday Candy
  16. Pass the Vibes
  1. Lasting Impression
  2. Black of All Trades
  3. Tony Stanza
  4. Cool Mornings
  5. Always
  1. R4 Intro
  2. Rise and Shine
  3. R4 Theme Song
  4. Dreaming
  5. Rotation
  6. My Sub
  7. Sookie Now
  8. American Rapstar
  9. Highs and Lows
  10. Shake It
  11. Made Alot
  12. Lions and Lambs
  13. King's Blues
  14. Time Machine
  15. Get Right
  16. Amtrak
  17. Players Ballad
  18. Another N.I.G.G.E.R.
  19. Free My Soul
  20. The Vent
  21. Country Shit (REMIX)

What's Popping: "Surf" by Donnie Trumpet and the Social Experiment

Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiment

Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiment

With his 2013 "Acid Rap" mixtape, Chance the Rapper became one of the nation's hottest artists to never hit local radio. 2 years later, news comes out about Chance the Rapper's debut rap album titled "Surf". Except it's not even Chance's Album. It's by Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiment, a band that consists of Nico Segal (a.k.a. Donnie Trumpet), Peter Cottontale, Greg Landfair JR., Nate Fox and you guessed it, Chance the Rapper.

Before we even begin to talk about the music... let's go over the fact that Chance had a chance to be a solo megastar but he gave that up to bring The Social Experiment into the spotlight. The Social Experiment was actually Chance's backup band while he was on tour for "Acid Rap". If that's not the dopest, most humble move in artistry today... I don't know what is.

Now I've never had much formal musical education, so I must say that my music terminology is on point... colloquially. But this joint right here is flames. They gave this album away for free and I feel like I stole a Picasso. Iight, it's really not that serious but I still feel dirty.

I ain't really got the words to describe this album properly... but I just love it. One of my favorite tracks off the album is "Sunday Candy".

Rap nowadays has gotten extremely experimental... and this album is a testament to that. There's so many elements of funk, jazz, indie and rock here. It's an amazing piece of collaboration when you think about the number of rock star features The Social Experiment enlists... Big Sean, J. Cole, and Jeremih to name a few.

"Surf" is an album that grows on me more and more each time I listen to it. There's a lot more left on this blog post, so take a break and download the album off iTunes for free.

Throwback: "The Return of 4eva" by Big K.R.I.T. (2011)

The King Remembered In Time A.K.A. Big K.R.I.T.

The King Remembered In Time A.K.A. Big K.R.I.T.

This joint right here is one of my favorite mixtapes EVER. Honestly, calling it a mixtape is just insulting this body of work... but it is what it is. From the artwork to the concept to the music, everything about this tape is perfect. When I first heard "The Return of 4eva", I scrapped whatever mixtape I was working on immediately. This isn't some iPod shuffled playlist of songs; the flow of this project can only be called one thing: Platinum record. I switched my entire game plan because of this.

Let's start off with the album... my fault I meant mixtape, cover. The artwork is beautiful and is unlike most mixtape covers. It showcases Big K.R.I.T. perfectly, a peaceful cat out of Mississippi with a love for old-school Caddies and record samples. This is a reoccurring theme in pretty much all of K.R.I.T.'s mixtapes... and I love it.

It's also got one of my favorite intro's.

Other favorites include "Sookie Sookie Now", "Rotation", "The Vent", "Another Naive Individual Glorifying Greed & Encouraging Racism", and "Country Shit Remix".

Fun Fact: one of Big K.R.I.T.'s biggest influences is U.G.K., and he has often been hailed as the second coming of the late great Pimp C (half of the U.G.K. duo). Well, on "Country Shit Remix" K.R.I.T. was able to feature Bun B on the track--the other half of U.G.K. Talk about a dream come true.

"Dreaming" is also a part of "The Return of 4eva" and it's also one of my favorite music videos. Man, this tape just got so many of my favorites across different categories. So yea, obv go peep that shit cause it's available for free download here.

The Come Up: "Always EP" by Substantial & Algorythmusic

"Couldn't pay'em to notice me, now they pay cause they know it's me" - Substantial MC

"Couldn't pay'em to notice me, now they pay cause they know it's me" - Substantial MC

Quaking from the underground this week is the "Always EP" by Substantial & Algorythmusic. If you've heard of this dude, high-five. If not, go peep his EP right now. Boy flow is smooth like butter. The entire project consists of feel good melodies and the production could not have been better by Algorythmusic (half of the duo The Stuyvesants). Now, I don't know much about Substantial or Algorythmusic, but that's not what this segment is about. I'm just here to suggest some dope music to ya'll.

Make sure you cop that EP if you like it to support real hip-hop, fam. Or at the very least share it with ya homies.